The Public Employees Pension Board

Louis Martel - Chair

Louis Martel was appointed as Chair of the Board on May 1, 2020. Louis received a Bachelor of Science from Laval University in 1982. Louis is a Chartered Financial Analyst, Fellow of the Society of Actuaries, and Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries. He was most recently the Managing Director & Chief Client Strategist for TD Greystone Managed Investments Inc. Louis is now retired and focused on providing direction through his participation on the Public Employees Pension Board, Saskatchewan Blue Cross Board, and the Blue Cross Life Board. Louis also engages in various speaking opportunities with the Canadian Pension and Benefits Institute, Canadian Institute of Actuaries, and International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans.

Darren Henderson - Vice-chair

Darren Henderson was appointed to the Board on September 1, 2014 by the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 2067. Darren was elected Vice-chair of the Board effective June 27, 2019. Darren received a Diploma in Electrical Engineering Technology from Saskatchewan Polytechnic in 1991 and a Business Administration Certificate from the University of Saskatchewan in 2004. Darren has completed the Queen’s Governance Program and the Rotman ICPM Board Effectiveness Program, as well as the Portfolio Concepts and Management course and the Advanced Investments Management course at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania. Darren is currently employed by SaskPower as a supervisor of a commissioning and testing group in Saskatoon.

Janice Brunas

Janice Brunas

Janice Brunas was appointed to the Board on February 25, 2021 by the Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation, the Workers’ Compensation Board (WCB) and the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency. Janice graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a Bachelor of Commerce degree, majoring in Accounting in 1990. She received her Chartered Accountant (CPA) designation in 1993 and completed the Canadian Securities Course in 1995. Janice has been a member of the CIPM Association (Certificate in Investment Performance Measurement) since 2011. Previously Janice has held director roles at Greystone Managed Investments and currently is the Director of Strategic Finance and Corporate Services at WCB. Janice brings to the Board a highly skilled background in financial governance, institutional investing, strategic planning and financial analysis. She has current professional involvement with the WCB Investment Committee and the Canadian WCB Financial Reporting Committee. Janice also has past experience with the Canadian Investment Performance Council and a Global Pooled Fund Working Group with the CFA Institute.   

Darcia Connelly

Darcia Connelly was appointed to the Board on August 14, 2019 by the Public Service Commission. Darcia graduated from the University of Regina with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 2001, she received her LL.B. from the University of Saskatchewan in 2004 and she obtained a Master of Public Administration degree from the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy at the University of Regina in 2008. Darcia is a member of the Law Society of Saskatchewan and is currently employed in the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General as Senior Crown Counsel in the Civil Law Branch.

Jim Engel

Jim Engel was appointed to the Board on June 27, 2018 by Saskatchewan Polytechnic and the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA). Jim has Bachelor of Arts (Hons) and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Regina. He is Vice President of Corporate Services and Gaming Operations with SLGA, which includes responsibility for finance, IT, human resources, policy, legislation, corporate social responsibility, privacy and access, First Nation casinos, and the provincial VLT program. In past roles Jim has been responsible for strategic planning, research, continuous improvement, and internal audit. Jim has experience with several volunteer boards and committees, including past chair of the SK regional group of the Institute Of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC).

Charlene Gavel

As Chief Financial Officer at SaskTel, Charlene Gavel is responsible for the Corporation’s financial activities and provides leadership in the development of financial strategies. She is responsible for providing strategic, accounting, and financial advice to the President and CEO, subsidiary Presidents, SaskTel’s executive team, and the Board of Directors. Charlene has extensive experience and has held a variety of senior leadership positions throughout her career. Most recently, she has held the position of Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at SaskTel International. Prior to that, Charlene held positions with the Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region as Chief Financial Officer and Vice President of Financial Services, and at Information Services Corporation (ISC) as Chief Financial Officer and Vice President of Finance and Administration.

Charlene earned a Bachelor of Administration degree from the University of Regina and is a Chartered Professional Accountant, CA. She has also achieved the Institute of Corporate Directors designation.

Charlene currently serves on the boards of SaskTel International, SecurTek, Directwest, and the Public Employees Pension Plan (PEPP).

Nancy Seman
Nancy Seman was appointed to the Board on September 1, 2020 by CUPE 600. Nancy has worked for the Government of Saskatchewan for over 35 years, dedicating her career to Social Services and individuals with disabilities. Currently she is a part of the Autism Spectrum Disorder Individualized Funding program. Nancy holds a position on the Joint Board of Trustees for the PEBA Extended Health Care Plan while she was the president of CUPE Local 600.

Mac Trost

Mac Trost was appointed to the Board on December 16, 2015 by the Saskatchewan Government and General Employees’ Union(SGEU). Mac is a Facility Worker with the North Battleford Youth Centre. He is experienced with the role of a trustee given his experience with various other boards and committees. Mac has taken a variety of courses including the Foundations of Trust Management Standards and Advanced Trust Management Standards through the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans.

Andrew Zulkoski

Andrew Zulkoski was appointed to the Board on January 17, 2017 by Unifor. He graduated from the University of Regina with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree majoring in Finance and a certificate in Economics in 2012. Andrew is currently employed as a Regulatory Analyst with SaskTel in Regina. Andrew has completed the Rotman ICPM Board Effectiveness Program and the Foundations of Trust Management Standards through the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans.

Appointments to the Board are made pursuant to Section 3 of The Public Employees Pension Plan Act.

Inquiries to the Public Employees Pension Board may be directed to The Public Employees Benefits Agency.